Ankündigungen: Willkommen im Forum! Wir möchten Euch bitten keine Namen von historischen Personen als Nick zu verwenden. Danke!

*** Welcome to the forum. Please do not use names of historical persons as nickname! Thx. Please Sign in ("registrieren")!


History of War - Forum : Rules questions : Some questions
()
New Topic Post Reply
Beitrag von Nachricht
ItalianGuy
Level: Member
Registriert seit: 23-09-2006
Beiträge: 16
IP: Logged


View Profile Send Email to User
icon Some questions

attacker: 1 fighter, 1 bomber with initiative naval, 1 naval
defender:1 bomber, 1 naval unit

the attacker declares the attack with fighter and bomber.
can the defender block the bomber with his bomber or the advantage rules prevents it?
if the defender declares an attack with the naval unit, the attacker can lock the bomber to damage the defender's naval unit without blocking it?

07-11-2006 at 13:07 | Antwort mit Zitat
Konwacht
Level: Moderator
Registriert seit: 14-08-2003
Beiträge: 17778
IP: Logged


View Profile Send Email to User
icon Re: Some questions

Advantage never effects blocking in any way. Advantage only sets damage first which is only important in the damage distribution phase.

If a naval attacks no unit (except ships ^.^) may block it until it has the special ability "Able to block ships" or "May block ships".

07-11-2006 at 16:31 | Antwort mit Zitat
Roland_09
Level: Moderator
Registriert seit: 11-09-2005
Beiträge: 945
IP: Logged


View Profile Send Email to User
icon Re: Some questions

Italianguy's first question:

Let's assume that the attacking fighter has Advantage! against bombers and is strong enough to destroy the defending bomber. There are no other Advantage! abilities around.

In Italianguy's example, the defender can choose to block the attacker's bomber with his own bomber.

However, since the attacking fighter went unblocked, the attacker will likely declare that the fighter will deal its damage to the blocking bomber, thereby destroying it. Since units with Advantage! deal their damage a split second before units without Advantage!, the defending bomber will not deal any damage to the attacking bomber.

Although the attacking bomber would survive being blocked by the defender's bomber, it still could not deal any damage to the defender's naval unit, because the blocking bomber was still existing at the beginning of the damage phase, and the block counts. So, the defender's naval unit survives this round of combat.


Italianguy's second question:

No, the remaining bomber could not kill the defender's ship simply by locking. This is a privilege of units that come under fire by unblocked attacking units (for example, a bomber is not blocked and decides to hit a naval unit, the ship may lock to return its AV Air against the attacking bomber).

If the former defender's ship is not blocked by the former attacker, the defender could choose where his ship would apply its damage to. Since units can only attack other units of their own type, unless they have Initiative! that says otherwise, the defender can only really damage the attacker's ship (which may then decide to lock and deal its AV to the defender's ship). To my knowledge, there are no naval units with Initiative! Air.

If there was, the attacking player could lock its bomber to damage the defender's naval unit, but ONLY when the defender announced that he was going for the bomber in the first place. (In your example, that wouldn't work anyway, because the attacker's bomber would still be locked from attacking earlier in this round, although it didn't do any damage.)

Sounds confusing? Sorry, I can't explain it any better, but keep asking anyways...

[Edited by Roland_09 on 08-11-2006 at 17:05 GMT]

[Edited by Roland_09 on 08-11-2006 at 17:06 GMT]

____________________________
KILLERSPIELE SOFORT VERBIETEN!!!
http://www.spiegel.de/netzwelt/web/0,1518,452419,00.html

Tatmotiv: KILLERSPIELE!!!
http://www.spiegel.de/panorama/justiz/0,1518,612826,00.html

Save the children!
http://www.americanthinker.com/2009/02/save_the_children_from_global.html

08-11-2006 at 16:16 | Antwort mit Zitat
ItalianGuy
Level: Member
Registriert seit: 23-09-2006
Beiträge: 16
IP: Logged


View Profile Send Email to User
icon Re: Some questions

The camouflage ability says:

Camouflage! is an ability that prevents a card from being damaged by a specific category of cards. A camouflaged unit can’t be blocked by units of that category (i.e. „Camouflage! affecting tanks“ means that this card neither receives damage
from tanks nor can it be blocked by
tanks).

Cards with camouflage can deal damage to other cards with the same rules?

Another stupid example:
Defender: submarine, naval unit without special rules.
Attacker: submarine

The attacker declares the attack with his submarine. The defender can block the submarine with his submarine?
If the defender attacks with his naval unit, the submarine blocks without taking damage?

10-11-2006 at 08:16 | Antwort mit Zitat
GeZi-General
Level: Moderator
Registriert seit: 09-12-2003
Beiträge: 1839
IP: Logged


View Profile Send Email to User
icon Re: Some questions

Each submarine is affected by the other ones' camouflage. So the defending submarine can't block because of it.
Analogously the attacking one - although it is unblocked and may deal its damage as it wants - can't target the defending submarine, because its camouflage is still in effect.
They just don't see each other (with submarines that really makes sense).

____________________________
And you run and you run to catch up with the sun, but it's sinking
And racing around to come up behind you again
The sun is the same in a relative way, but you're older
Shorter of breath and one day closer to death

10-11-2006 at 09:54 | Antwort mit Zitat
History of War - Forum : Rules questions : Some questions New Topic Post Reply



Login ? Username: Passwort: Passwort vergessen ?
Forum Eigenschaften:
Wer kann neue Beiträge erstellen ? HoW-Team, Moderator, Member, Member, Member
Wer kann auf Beiträge antworten ? HoW-Team, Moderator, Member, Member, Member
Wer kann Beiträge lesen ? HoW-Team, Moderator, Member, Member, Member, Gast
HTML An ? no
UBBC An ? yes
Wortfilter ? no